Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Wednesday, 12 May 2021

Month in Review(s) - April 2021

(Warning: this post briefly discusses Covid 19/Coronavirus and Lockdowns, and mental health problems)


April was a mixed month.

Not only did we have snow, hail, rain, and blazing warm sunshine on the same day, but the uncertain opening-up after Lockdown etc. still meant that things felt hecka odd.

We're in that odd position where we're (hopefully) beyond the worst of it, but it's also uber-important not to move too fast, y'know?



'April - Ebrill' with a bunch of umbrellas in the background. Just, y'know, floating of their own volition. As they do when you need an artsy background.


Tuesday, 20 April 2021

Review Time! - The Sigil by Shakeil Kanish and Larissa Mandeville



'The Sigil' with an artsy black marble background







'The Sigil' book cover with the silhouette of a person in a hoodie, and a glowing light
Title: The Sigil


Author: Shakeil Kanish, Larissa Mandeville


Genre: Young Adult (New Adult crossover appeal,) Fantasy, Witches(-ish,) LGBTQ+ (relationships: M/M, side M/F, refs to F/F)

Wednesday, 27 January 2021

Month in Review(s) - December 2020

(Warning: this post references Covid 19/Coronavirus, and the UK's institutional Transphobia)


I know this wrap-up is epically late. 

Honestly, I considered combining it with January's 'Month in Review(s)' post, but I figure if 2021 is also going to be a sh**-show, it may as well be its own sh**-show, independent of the remnants of 2020.


So let's keep this super-brief because December 2020 was like forever ago!


'December - Rhagfyr' with sparkly background

Wednesday, 14 October 2020

Month in Review(s) - September 2020

(Warning: this post discusses Coronavirus/Covid 19, Transphobia and JKR, and mental health)


September was weird. I think that goes for much of 2020, but September felt especially 2020-ish.

In August, Wales was down to a very small number of Coronavirus cases. We had it in control. 

By the end of September, over half of our population was in Lockdown, and remain in Lockdown. That includes yours truly.


'September - Medi' with leafy background and large pink and purple leaf shapes

Wednesday, 30 September 2020

Review! - Pan's Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of The Faun by Guillermo Del Toro and Cornelia Funke



'Pan's Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of the Faun' against a background of a creepy forest




Title: Pan's Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of The Faun

'Pan's Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of the Faun' book cover with spooky forest and fairies and a girl walking into it

Author: Guillermo Del Toro and Cornelia Funke

Genre: Media Tie-In, Horror, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Fairy Tales (-ish,) Magic Realism(-ish,) Young Adult (Maybe? Maybe just adult with YA appeal. It's kind of difficult to gage the age range here!)



Wednesday, 9 September 2020

Month In Review(s) - August 2020

 

August was way too hot - I'm too Welsh for this cr*p!

Seriously, I melt above 24C. That's plenty enough for me. So between 27C and 30C is literal hell to me. Thank God it's cooled down a butt-tonne now.


'August - Awst' with blue sky background, and sunflowers on the right-hand side



Anywho, I cut back on blogging in August (and you can see how that went here,) but I somehow wrote more reviews and bookish content than I have in a long time *shrugs*

I wrote 2 whole reviews dearest nerdlets! In one month! Lol.


Friday, 21 August 2020

Review Time! - Queer As A Five-Dollar Bill by Lee Wind

(Warning: this post discusses Homophobia and bigotry, including physical violence)



'Queer As A Five Dollar Bill' written in mismatched letters over a background of a five dollar bill, ft. Abraham Lincoln





Title: Queer As A Five-Dollar Bill

'Queer As A Five-Dollar Bill' book cover with $5 poking out of the back of a boy's jeans
Author: Lee Wind

Genre: YA, Contemporary, LGBTQ+ (Gay & M/M)



Wednesday, 13 May 2020

Month In Review(s) - April 2020

(Warning: this post discusses Covid 19/Coronavirus, and Anxiety)


April 2020.

Um... yeah... 

(I know it's the 13th of May - I'm disorganised, and you all know this.)




'April - Ebrill' with girl in a coat holding an umbrella, and an artsy swirl around it




OK, plus side: I had fewer panic attacks this month!

I mean, I still had panic attacks, and a butt-tonne of Anxiety, but I had slightly less of it! Woo!

(Small victories, dearest nerdlets, small victories.)

Tuesday, 28 April 2020

Mini-Review! - Legendary by Stephanie Garber



'Legendary' in a black heart outlined in dripping red, there is a smattering of stars thrown across the whole image






Title: Legendary


Author: Stephanie Garber'Legendary' book cover with red Ace of Spades

Series: Caraval #2

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Amazon: USA





The Verdict:


I don't think I've ever enjoyed a second book so much when I found the first book so... meh.

Don't get me wrong - Caraval was ok. 


It was an enjoyable enough read. 

I did have some... issues... with it when I reviewed it a few years ago, but overall it was just ok.



Wednesday, 11 March 2020

Month in Review(s) - February 2020



February... I mean, on a personal level, February wasn't too bad.

I had a few colds (and yes, they were colds,) and some bad depression days, but nothing too much.




'February - Chwefror' written on an old-fashioned wooden desk, scattered with hearts, a notebook, and number blocks (1. 4.)




Although *gestures vaguely at the state of the world* I realise that more than a few squares have been crossed off on our apocalypse bingo cards.

But we've been crossing those things off since 2016, so it's probably not that surprising.

And a reminder, my dearest darling nerdlets: where there's life there's hope, and where there's hope, there's life.

Tuesday, 25 February 2020

Book Review! - Talk Softly And Carry Your Big Stick With Pride by Ariel Jean Bailey


OMG she still reviews! 😅😎


'Talk Softly and Carry Your Big Stick With Pride' against a Trans flag background (horizontal stripes: blue/pink/white/pink/blue)







Talk Softly and Carry Your Big Stick With Pride book cover
Title: Talk Softly And Carry Your Big Stick With Pride:The Biology, Sociology, and History of the Gender Spectrum
Author: Ariel Jean Bailey

Genre: Non-Fiction, LGBTQ+ (Trans+/NB+, some Genderqueer+, some Intersex+)


Amazon: UK - USA


Tuesday, 10 September 2019

Month in Review(s) - August 2019




August was not as hot here in the UK!!!!! 

Thank whatever deity, divine power, or cosmic entity that may be listening!

Don't get me wrong, there were still days which were officially too hot. But there were less of them. *sighs happily*



August - Awst title graphic with a seaside/beach background



Unfortunately, I spent most of August with a cold.

Because I'm one of those people who will catch every virus imaginable after a galandular-fever-like illness screwed my immune system over when I was 16. Good times.


Wednesday, 28 August 2019

Wednesday, 10 July 2019

Month in Review(s) - June 2019





June kind of flew by!

Partly because I was super-busy! Which is also why I (once again) posted less here than I wanted to.

I did manage to post a review though! Woo! I can still call myself a book blog! (Lol.) 😅



June - Mehefin graphic with blue sky and sun shape



Wednesday, 8 May 2019

Month in Review(s) - April 2019




April - well, April didn't have any work-related nose-bleeds, for a start!

Thanks to everyone for asking if I was ok, etc, last month - honestly I think you guys were a lot more worried about it than I was 😅



April title image with artsy girl in red coat holding an umbrella



On the one hand, April had Easter and chocolate and spring flowers, and all that awesome stuff!

Y'know, lots of fun stuff to enjoy and smile about! 😊

Wednesday, 24 April 2019

Review Time! - Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters




Tipping the Velvet title image with silhouette of woman holding her hat





Title: Tipping the Velvet

Author: Sarah Waters

Genres: Historical Fiction, LGBTQ+ (see below for rep,) (Modern) Classics, Romance(-ish)


Amazon: UK - USA



Wednesday, 13 March 2019

Month in Review(s) - February 2019



February was... OK.




February title image w/ desk, paper, and scattered hearts


Look, I'd love to say it was great. But my Depression has been kind of up-and-down.

So I can't honestly call it 'great' - but 'ok' is fairly accurate.

I survived it. I even enjoyed some of it. So 'ok' is what I'm gonna call it.